(Via Billboard) A number of influential musicians and other artists have now joined their voices to the organized repudiation of the recent immigration legislation in Arizona.

The following names have been posted on the website thesoundstrike.net endorsing a boycott of Arizona, most likely by refusing to play the state's venues: Cypress Hill, Juanes, Conor Oberst, Los Tigres del Norte, Rage Against the Machine, Cafe Tacvba, Kanye West, Calle 13, Joe Satriani, Serj Tankian, Rise Against, Ozomatli, Sabertooth Tiger, Massive Attack, One Day As A Lion; Street Sweeper Social Club, Spank Rock and Sonic Youth. Filmmaker Michael Moore is also included on the list among the musicians.

The group (including several well-known acts from LA and California) is encouraging people to check out the website thesoundstrike.net, to familiarize themselves with their opposition to the new Arizona law and to sign a petition demanding its repeal.

The website was announced by Rage Against the Machine's Zach de la Rocha, who explained his reasons in an open letter:

“Fans of our music, our stories, our films and our words can be pulled over and harassed every day because they are brown or black, or for the way they speak, or for the music they listen to,” de la Rocha wrote […] “People who are poor like some of us used to be could be forced to live in a constant state of fear while just doing what they can to find work and survive. This law opens the door for them to be shaked down, or even worse, detained and deported while just trying to travel home from school, from home to work, or when they just roll out with their friends.”

Advertising disclosure: We may receive compensation for some of the links in our stories. Thank you for supporting LA Weekly and our advertisers.