The New Pornographers are an alt-rock supergroup from Vancouver, Canada, composed of bandleader A.C. Newman, Neko Case, John Collins, Blaine Thurier, Todd Fancey and Kathryn Calder, among others. On the band’s latest album, In the Morse Code of Brake Lights, Newman’s voice and songs are predominant, which is a shame for Case fans hoping for more of her songwriting input. That said, Morse Code is another gently engaging collection of power-pop songs such as “The Surprise Knock” and “You’ll Need a New Backseat Driver” (which is highlighted by Case’s radiant vocals). Other tracks, such as “Falling Down the Stairs of Your Smile” and “Dreamlike and on the Rush,” are more memorable for their titles than their melodies, while lesser numbers like “Opening Ceremony” veer too close to anonymous yacht rock.

The Fonda Theatre, 6126 Hollywood Blvd., Hollywood; Mon., Feb. 3, 9 p.m.; $35. (323) 464-6269,

Advertising disclosure: We may receive compensation for some of the links in our stories. Thank you for supporting LA Weekly and our advertisers.