Los Angeles' Friends of Friends Music has spent 2010 figuring out how to reinvent the way music is released and as a thank you for a successful year, FoF is giving fans a free download of its Pop Massacre compilation. FoF gave its favorite producers simple instructions: “choose a song from any era of popular culture to be source material of a song for our 'Pop Massacre' compilation.” The result is a 13-track slaughtering of new and classic pop hits by Lady Gaga, Britney Spears, Beach Boys, Spice Girls, Mariah Carey, Katy Perry, Soulja Boy and others by the best beat makers around, most of which are local:

Pop Massacre:

1. AnenonWannabe (Spice Girls)Non Projects

2. StrangeloopWouldn't It Be Nice (Beach Boys)Brainfeeder

3. ShlohmoPretty Boy Swag (Soulja Boy)Friends of Friends

4. DNTELPaparazzi (Lady Gaga)Sub Pop

5. AsuraAlways Be My Baby (Mariah Carey)Non Projects

6. DaedelusI Would Die For You (Prince) — Ninja Tune/Magical Properties

7. Sahy UhnsPieces Of Me (Briitney Spears)Proximal

8. LodenGimme Gimme (Abba)Mush

9. Mexicans with GunsLa Bamba (Ritchie Valens)Innovative Leisure/Friends of Friends

10. GroundislavaI Bet I Do (Supa Blanco)Friends of Friends

11. The One AM RadioTake on Me (A-ha)Dangerbird

12. Big Spider's BackTeenage Dream (Katy Perry)Circle Into Square

13. My Dry Wet Mess ft. Amir Yaghmai – I Want Her (Keith Sweat)Magical Properties

Best tracks:

Two L.A. heavyweights, Daedelus and Strangeloop, are responsible for the best tracks on the comp. Check out Daedelus' twisted reworking of Prince's “I Would Die for You” and Strangeloop's remix of the Beach Boy's “Wouldn't It Be Nice.”

LA Weekly