We previewed in our print section a few months ago the live presentation of OFF!, the Keith Morris-led quartet featuring members of Black Flag, Circle Jerks, Redd Kross, Burning Brides and Earthless, and the art of Raymond Pettibon.

It was announced today that OFF! has just signed with Vice Records, the music label attached to the quintessential youth culture magazine of the 00's.

Vice has described their upcoming debut release as

four EPs comprising a total of 16 songs. The first release, the succinctly titled 1st EP, will be issued as a limited edition 7-inch on October 12th with artwork and exclusive poster courtesy of Raymond Pettibon, the living legend responsible for Black Flag's overall visual aesthetic (OFF! sport a similar arrangement with the artist). The full collection, First Four EPs, will follow on November 23rd as a four 7-inch EP box set, with each EP in the box featuring its own Pettibon sleeve art.

The project was a veritable punk rock supergroup, with drummer Mario Rubalcaba (Hot Snakes, Rocket From the Crypt), guitarist Dimitri Coats (Burning Brides) and bassist Steven McDonald of legendary L. A. band (and early Black Flag co-conspirators) Red Kross.

“This originally started as me writing songs for a new Circle Jerks record,” Morris explained to LA Weekly's John Albert back then. “I haven't quit the Circle Jerks. But these songs sound more energetic and urgent than anything I've done in a long time. I don't know, maybe because I'm 55 and need to get it out of my system before I fall over from a heart attack.”

More from Vice Records:

The first EP gives a concise indication of what can be expected from the group: four songs clocking in at just over four minutes, all as urgent and immediate as imaginable. Paint stripping intensity at ferocious tempos tempered with an ear for melody and structure. This is the sound of four veteran musicians honing their craft to razor-edged perfection, then boiling it down to bare essentials.

LA Weekly