A selection of new releases for beginning of the end of summer 2009.

Los Angeles-related releases out this week:

The Dub Club, which takes place every Wednesday night at the Echoplex, has brought to LA some of Jamaican music's most important and legendary figures, and has been recording and interviewing them along the way. They've just released a collection of these interviews in the form of a documentary called Rub-a-Dub Style. It's out today.

thecocknbullkid: Querelle EP [IAMSOUND] New signing of rapper thecocknbullkid, born in Hackney, East London, to Ghanian parents on the consistently interesting IAMSOUND label.

Solillaquists of Sound: No More Heroes [Anti-] New hip hop from Orlando on the LA-based Anti- records.

White Shit: Sculpted Beef EP [PPM] New EP on No Age drummer/screamer Dean Spunt's Post Present Medium label. Quoth the product info at Amazon: “White Shit is the mastermind of Andy Coronado (Monorchid, Skull Kontrol, Wrangler Brutes) on guitar and concepts, along with Jared Warren (Karp, Big Business, Melvins) on vocals and Cody Willis (Murder City Devils, Big Business, Melvins) on drums and *Tits on bass. This 9 song “Mini LP” comes to you as a 12″ and is an absolute hardcore crossover faster than sludge piece of work. White Shit don't want you too not think, they have a keen sense of design and politics that may seem shocking at first, but with a name like White Shit, you get what you pay for.”

Bad Veins: Bad Veins (Dangerbird Records). Silver Lake label Dangerbird releases incendiary album from two piece.

Jets Overhead: No Nations (Vapor Records). Victoria, British Columbia band on Neil Young's label.

Yim Yames: “Tribute To George Harrison” EP [ATO]. Jim James of My Morning Jacket releases a six-song tribute to the post-Beatles work of Harrison. It's beautiful. On LA-based ATO, you can listen to it here.

Night Horse; Credit: Magda

Night Horse; Credit: Magda

Night Horse/The High Saints: “Choose Your Side/Black Days” 7″ [Tee Pee Records] New split from two LA rock bands.

Pictureplane: Dark Rift [LovepumpUnited]

Soul-Junk: 1960 [Sounds Familyre] Two years in the making from this San Diego native.

Also out today of note:

All Tiny Creatures: Sengi “12” [Hometapes]

Antony and the Johnsons: “Aeon” [Secretly Canadian] [single]

Iron Age: The Sleeping Eye [Tee Pee Records]

Joe Pernice: It Feels So Good When I Stop (Novel Soundtrack) [Ashmont] A companion to the Pernice Brother's recently published novel of the same name.

Julian Plenti: Julian Plenti Is…Skyscraper [Matador]

Amanda Blank: I Love You (CD/LP) [Downtown Records]

Jay Reatard, Watch Me Fall (Matador)

Japandroids: Post-Nothing [Polyvinyl] [U.S. release]

Kool Keith: Lost Masters Collection [3 CD] [Oglio Entertainment]

West Coast Sound operative Daniel Fenton has a tip on Japandroids:

The first song on Post-Nothing, “The Boys Are Leaving Town,” begins with a steady stream of plucked bass eighth notes, like many other indie/rock alt. bands. A promising beginning, we're now waiting, our heads bobbing to the fanfare of bass. Half-expected, a distorted guitar starts to play along, adding dissonant harmonies and octaves. After what seems to be an anthem-like, almost U2ish distorted beginning, the drums come crashing down. Listen to more here.

Compiled by Daniel Fenton

*note: the original version of this post got the bassist wrong. We've amended to correct.

LA Weekly