Pitchfork has the tracklisting for the new compilation of Johnny Cash rarities from the very good years (1954-1969). It includes fantastic material like a '50s radio broadcast from Memphis, demos for “I Walk the Line,” “Get Rhythm” and “Belshazzar,” rare Sun records recordings, and versions of “One Too Many Mornings,” “Johnny Yuma” and the “Losing Kind.” The album will be released on Feb. 22 as From Memphis to Hollywood: Bootleg Vol. 2. Wanna hear the acoustic demo for “I Walk the Line”?:

Listen to it here.

Complete track listing:

From Memphis to Hollywood: Bootleg Vol. 2:


Memphis radio broadcast:

01 KWEM Announcements and Advertisements

02 Johnny Cash Show Intro and Theme

03 Wide Open Road

04 Home Equipment Company Advertisement

05 One More Ride

06 Home Equipment Company Advertisement/Luther Perkins Intro

07 Luther's Boogie

08 Belshazzar Intro

09 Belshazzar

10 Closing Comments and Theme

11 Overton Park Shell “Country Music Jamboree” Advertisement by “Texas” Bill Strength, broadcast August 4, 1955

Early demos:

12 I Walk the Line

13 Get Rhythm

14 Train of Love

15 Country Boy

16 My Treasure

17 Belshazzar

18 He'll Be a Friend

19 When I Think of You

20 I Just Don't Care Enough (To Carry On)

21 I'll Cry for You

22 You're My Baby

23 Rock and Roll Ruby

Sun rarities:

24 Wide Open Road

25 Leave That Junk Alone

26 Brakeman's Blues (incomplete)

27 Big River

28 I Couldn't Keep From Crying

29 New Mexico

30 Goodnight Irene

More demos:

31 Restless Kid

32 It's All Over

CD2 (The 1960s):

01 All Over Again

02 You Dreamer You

03 I'll Remember You

04 Johnny Yuma Theme

05 Five Minutes to Live

06 The Losing Kind

07 Locomotive Man

08 Girl in Saskatoon

09 There's a Mother Always Waiting

10 Johnny Reb

11 Shifting, Whispering Sands (with Lorne Greene)

12 Send a Picture of Mother

13 Hardin Wouldn't Run (demo)

14 Thunderball

15 One Too Many Mornings

16 The Frozen Logger

17 Foolish Questions

18 Bottom of the Mountain

19 Put the Sugar to Bed

20 You Beat All I Ever Saw

21 On the Line

22 Roll Call

23 The Folk Singer

24 Six White Horses (demo)

25 Come Along and Ride This Train (demo)

Advertising disclosure: We may receive compensation for some of the links in our stories. Thank you for supporting LA Weekly and our advertisers.

LA Weekly