Are me and Jimmy Tamborello the only people who appreciate the power and glory of Susumu Yokota? Holy crap, that fella can make some beautiful music. Tamborello usually does his dying mixes for Dublab, but he's tossed off an excellent, gorgeous mix for XLR8R that the zine has on its site right now. Totally worth your headspace, for sure.

(this Susumu Yokota track isn't on the mix, but it's one of my all-time favorite videos)

Dying Songs for XLR8R: track list

01 Paul Horn – “Prologue/Inside” – from Inside

02 Variant – “The Settintg Sun” – from The Setting Sun

03 Grouper – “Little Gray Cat” – from Grouper/Inca Ore Split

04 Susumu Yokota – “A Flower White” – from Mother

05 The Momes – “Locust Swarm” – from Spiralling

06 Officer! – “Hello” – from Ossification

07 Orchestral Manoeuvres In the Dark – “Of All The Things We've Made” – from Peel Sessions 1979-1983

08 Nite Jewel – “Artificial Intelligence” – from My CD

09 Moondog – “Do Your Thing” – from 0Songs

10 Elli & Jacno – “Pour Toi” – from Boomerang

11 Eroc – “Chaotic Reaction” – from Eroc 1

12 Bruno Pronsato – “Slowly, Gravely” – from Why Can't We Be Like Us

13 Tim Hecker – “The Inner Shore” – from An Imaginary Country

14 Cocteau Twins – “Dials” – from Dials EP

LA Weekly