[Every Sunday from 8 to 10 p.m., Henry Rollins brings an exclusive mix of songs old and new to listeners at 89.9 FM, KCRW. Visit KCRW.com for more information and to stream his show online, or peruse the Radio Notes archives to see past playlists.]


Fanatic! I hope you enjoyed last week's hangout with Shepard Fairey. He's local, we should try to get him to come back in sometime.

Last night, I had a chance to hear the new Chain and the Gang album, Experimental Music. We get to start playing that one later in the month and we will.

We get a chance to go further into the new Rice Is Nice Mixtape on this show and on this night, we will listen to my personal favorite track from it.

The LP version of Devo's Recombo DNA is really cool and proving to be a worthwhile purchase. Way to go, Delaney at Fur, for putting that out.

More new music from the Cravats album. It's a great one. Here's some info.

At the time of this writing, the Castle Face Records site says they're still out of vinyl of the Oh Sees' new album Orc. If you can't find it there, it's in the shops. A nice bone-colored pressing out of the U.K. is really cool. Hopefully, Castle Face will get more of the record in soon. It's really good.

Of course, Fanatic, from start to finish, another show, worried over until it begged to leave!

Next week, at the top of our second hour, we have tracks from two upcoming releases on the Upset! The Rhythm label that I am very happy about. A band called Gen Pop and another called The World. Been listening to the World record a few times over the last week and really liking it.

Due to the amount of inquiries, we asked Shepard Fairey's team to send us a press release and image about his November event. We will post this again closer to the launch.


“Damaged” is the forthcoming solo art exhibition from artist and provocateur Shepard Fairey. A nimble and prolific street artist, a skilled graphic artist and a multifaceted fine artist, “Damaged” is the artist's largest-ever solo show in Los Angeles.

Referencing Black Flag’s 1981 album Damaged, but inspired by a critical look at social issues that are currently in a state of crisis, Fairey's latest body of work serves as a reflection on the damaged state of politics, media, human rights, the global approach to the environment, and more.

The exhibition opens in Los Angeles on November 11, 2017, and will showcase never-before-seen paintings, large-scale sculptures, installations, etchings, retired stencils, a printed newspaper titled The Damaged Times, prints on wood and metal, and a display of various do-it-yourself tools of empowerment.

Credit: Courtesy Shepard Fairey

Credit: Courtesy Shepard Fairey

Have a great week and STAY FANATIC!!!

Twitter: @henryrollins
Instagram: @henryandheidi

Hour 1
01. Wire – Lowdown / Pink Flag
02. The Gun Club – Bill Bailey / Mother Juno
03. Agent Orange – Everything Turns Grey / The Posh Boy Story
04. Dee Dee King – German Kid / Standing in the Spotlight
05. The Meat Puppets – Tumblin' Tumbleweeds / Meat Puppets
06. Moody Beach – Vanilla / Rice Is Nice Mixtape Vol. 04
07. The Birthday Party – Say a Spell / Mutiny EP
08. Joy Division – Isolation / Closer
09. Cabaret Voltaire – Silent Command / The Original Sound of Sheffield
10. Mattie May Thomas – Dangerous Blues / American Primitive Vol. II
11. Devo – Be Stiff / Recombo DNA
12. Cypress Hill – Break 'Em Off Some (clean) / Black Sunday
13., The Killjoys – Naïve / Raw Records Singles Collection
14. The UK Subs – Kicks / Singles Collection
15. David Lynch – Crazy Clown Time / Crazy Clown Time

Hour 2
01. Oh Sees – Jettison / Orc
02. Pure Hell – I Feel Bad / Noise Addiction
03. Savages – Husbands / Silence Yourself
04. The Timetones – In My Heart / Times Square Records Part 1
05. Terry – Glory / Remember Terry
06. Vimarn Maeramit – Heoow Sabat / Thai Beat a Go-Go Vol. 03
07. The Fall – Groundsboy / New Facts Emerge
08. The Cravats – All U Bish Dumpers / Dustbin of Sound
09. John Coltrane – Like Sonny (take 2 incomplete) / Atlantic Recordings
10. Suicide – Creature Feature / First Rehearsal Tapes
11. Amanaz – Easy Street / Africa
12. Eater – No Brains / The Album
13. The Scientists – Solid Gold Hell / Tales From the Australian Underground
14. Boris – Evil Perspective / Dear

More from the mind of Henry Rollins:
Make America Filthy, Hungry, Broke and Stupid Again
Ask Yourself What Side of History You Want to Be on
Don't Let the Trump Show Distract You From What's Really Going On

Advertising disclosure: We may receive compensation for some of the links in our stories. Thank you for supporting LA Weekly and our advertisers.