In the strange wake of music's digital rebirth, vinyl has experienced a modest boom in popularity, seen by many as a replacement for the awkward middleman that is the compact disc. INCHES reviews the output of L.A.'s healthy vinyl community, believing that good music deserves much more than a handful of ones and zeros.

Read previous installments here, or email us here.

Artist: The Petrojvic Blasting Co.

Title: A History of Public Relations Dillemae

Label: PBCo (Koreatown)

Format: LP (plus CD), letterpress cardstock jacket, 500 pressed

It's been far too long since we've checked in with the Petrojvic brothers. Almost a year to the day, actually, and it turns out they've been quite busy. In addition to taking on a residency at buzzworthy Downtown eatery The Gorbals, holding down their weekly post at the Amoeba-end of the Hollywood Farmers Market and performing at the sadly defunct Gallery 2023, they've gone and pressed up a proper album — proper, that is if your idea of that term involves shambolic gypsy folk, careening barroom rags, and songs about sketchy types with names like “Princess Andy.”

As for Princess Andy, he's a capsized fisherman who bests a murderous fish and rides the corpse to shore, “a crown of shark teeth on his head.” He's one of a handful of colorful characters who populate the Petrojvics' world — “Madame Selma” is another worth mentioning — a place where storytelling is as important as instrumental might. Take “Fido Oro,” a wordless piece that combines mariachi-style horns with a Balkan beat and virtuosic accordion-play. Or “Avi Colon,” where guest vocalists Leah Harmon (also a member of the Killsonic marching gang) get sultry over a lilting, back alley-meets-boudoir soundtrack. Or “Simon Was,” which would sound perfect blaring out of a turn-of-the-century (that century) watering hole. The stream/MP3 below, “Where We Gonna Leave It” isn't exactly indicative of the Blasting Co. sound — it's a sober, quite quiet folk tune — but it's an exceptional song and a great way to bring this boisterous record to a close.

Download: The Petrojvic Blasting Co. – “Where We Gonna Leave It” [MP3]

Purchase at the Hollywood Farmers Market this Sunday or next, or at The Gorbals on Thursday, May 13, before the boys leave for Europe. Buy CD/digital here.


Origami Vinyl's Top Ten Best-Sellers: April 18 – May 1

01. KISSES – “Bermuda” 7-inch (Surround Sound)

02. Caribou – Swim (Merge)

03. Rainbow Arabia / Nosaj Thing – “LA Collection Vol. 2 (IAMSOUND)

04. Edward Sharpe… / Moonrats – LA Collection Vol. 1 (IAMSOUND)

05. Liars – Sisterworld (Mute)

06. Surfer Blood / Holiday Shores split 7-inch (Kanine)

07. Best Coast – “Sun Was Hight” 7-inch (Art Fag)

08. Foot Village – World Fantasy 10-inch (Deathbomb Arc)

09. Kissing Cousins – Pillar of Salt (Velvet Blue)*

10. Arthur Russell – Calling Out of Context (Rough Trade)

[*previously featured in INCHES]

Origami Vinyl is located at 1816 W. Sunset Blvd., 90026 (213.413.3030).

Advertising disclosure: We may receive compensation for some of the links in our stories. Thank you for supporting LA Weekly and our advertisers.