He's a rapper. A screamer. A producer. A fashionisto. A photographer. And now, Vice Cooler, he of Hawnay Troof and XBXRX, is a do-gooder too.

The recent L.A. transplant (he moved here from Oakland last fall), needs help raising money for a Rwanda benefit album featuring unreleased songs from some very talented, forward-thinking artists: No Age, Dan Deacon, Xiu Xiu, the Gossip, Mt. Eerie, and Deerhoof to name a few.

Cooler has kicked off a Kickstarter page to raise money for what's so far called NFJM 030: A Benefit LP. The album itself will be available as a download, a vinyl LP (350 copies), an LP with a silk-screened cover (50 copies) and as the silk-screened LP with a photo book made by Cooler.

The pledge range spans $5 on up to $60, which seems modest. Liz Harris of Grouper designed the cover. The proceeds will go to Survivors Fund, which helps women who were orphaned by the Rwandan Genocide.

As Cooler told West Coast Sound, the medium inspired the project: “Last year, my roadie told me about Kickstarter. Shortly after I was in London and found out about Survivors Fund and really wanted to figure out a way to become involved. I put two and two together and thought of this compilation. Luckily my friends' bands were into it too. I'm really into the idea of using art as a medium to improve peoples lives.”

Speaking of friends' bands, the track listing is below, but there are a couple of unfamiliar names. Turns out Deep Purr is the solo endeavor of the Gossip's Braice Paine, and Tre Told Em is actually Girl Talk in collaboration with Frank Mussara from Hearts of Darkness.

Cooler gave us a little background on the photo book:

“For the past two years, I've been putting out limited run, hand-made photo books,” he said. “Though they tend to be very labor intensive with the hand printing, cutting and stitching, I believe the end product is something that you can't replicate though mass printing. I wanted to have a piece related to the music on the LP. I have an extensive amount of photos collected from over the years of these bands from touring so hopefully a portrait of each band will make the book.”

Track listing:

1. Dan Deacon – “Mamahaha”

2. Frankie Rose And The Outs – “Candy”

3. Deerhoof – “Twin Killers (live)”

4. Deep Purr – “Head Of The Crass”

5. No Age – “Bird Sex”

6. Mt. Eerie – “Uncertainty”

7. Explode Into Colors -b”How Adee (live)”

8. Tre Told Em – “Drop Ya Draws (ft. CX KiDTRONiK)”

9. XBXRX – “Into Red”

10. Gossip ft. John Wiese – “Live At The Smell”

11. Xiu Xiu – “Sammy”

Contribute right away:

LA Weekly