Finalists for the Los Angeles Press Club's 52nd SoCal Journalism Awards were announced Friday, and they included LA Weekly staff writers Patrick Range McDonald and Christine Pelisek for “journalists of the year” in the over-50,000-circulation category. R. Scott Moxley of sister publication OC Weekly also received a nod in the category.

Recently departed LA Weekly film critic Scott Foundas was nominated in the “entertainment journalist” category, and the paper's art director, Darrick Rainey, received a nod for “designer” of the year and three others for best “design.” Weekly staff writer and news blogger Dennis Romero was nominated in the “online journalist' category that was dominated by TruthDig journalists, including founder Robert Scheer, former Los Angeles Times city editor Bill Boyarsky, and Chris Hedges.

McDonald (“Los Angeles on $300,000 a Year;” “The Secret Lives of Queer Leading Men“), Pelisek (“How LAPD's 'Closers' Nabbed the Westside Rapist“), and fellow staffer Gendy Alimurung (“Man on Man: The New Gay Romance“) were up for individual stories. Foundas and Weekly food critic Jonathan Gold both received nods for their “criticism” columns.

LA Weekly food blog editor Amy Scattergood was put in the running twice for “online entertainment news/feature/commentary.” Read the full list of nominations here.

Advertising disclosure: We may receive compensation for some of the links in our stories. Thank you for supporting LA Weekly and our advertisers.

LA Weekly