Salem may hail from Michigan originally, but the creepiness of the trio's music knows no borders.

Like a thick, toxic fog, their particular brand of darkwave music (see Cold Cave, the XX) hangs low to the ground — sludgy, skulking stuff that's far too easy to get lost in.

That haze has been spreading slow and steady due to a series of limited 7-inches that've been trickling out via various small labels since 2008, but until now, Jack Donoghue (beats, raps), Heather Marlatt (vocals) and John Holland (synths) haven't had a proper home.

This morning, L.A.'s own IAMSOUND announced that it will release Salem's debut LP, King Night, on September 28.

Here's what the label had to say about the record:

Mixed by Dave Sardy [Autolux, Marilyn Manson, Slayer], the album's 11 tracks evoke certain elements of ethereal shoegaze, withdrawn Houston Screw, and production qualities akin to the frenetic delivery of contemporary Southern rap and Chicago footwork. […] Echoing the duality of the band's urban and rural surroundings, King Night is at once menacing and serene.

Followers of the band will notice three previously released tracks — blog favorites “Frost” and “Trapdoor,” as well as “Redlights” — reappearing on the full-length. This is a good thing (listen to all three on Salem's MySpace page).

Track-listing for King Night, out September 28 on IAMSOUND:

01. King Night

02. Asia

03. Frost

04. Sick

05. Release Da Boar

06. Trapdoor

07. Redlights

08. Hound

09. Traxx

10. Tair

11. Killer

LA Weekly