After a slew of damaging storms to start the year, the IRS and California Franchise Tax Board extended the 2022 tax filing deadline to October 16 for most California counties, including Los Angeles.

The original deadline would have fallen on April 18 for individual filers, and March 15 for some businesses, but 41 of California’s 58 counties can now take advantage of an extra six months after being declared disaster areas by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

“The IRS automatically provides filing and penalty relief to any taxpayer with an IRS address of record located in the disaster area,” The IRS wrote in a press release. “Therefore, taxpayers do not need to contact the agency to get this relief.”

Most Southern Californians filing individually, or for business, qualify for the extension, short of those filing in Kern and Imperial County. The deadline applies not only to federal taxes, but state, as well.

Changing the tax filing deadline is consistent with the federal assistance granted after Biden declared a state of emergency in California on January 9. Deadline extensions are typically given for natural disasters across the country and have previously been given to California counties who were affected by wildfires in 2021.

The state was hit with six atmospheric rivers in the first week of January, with several more rain, wind and snow storms causing damage since then. It is estimated that 24 trillion gallons of rainfall struck the state, causing severe flooding issues, destruction of property, destruction of roads, destruction due to wind-fallen trees and poles, and mudslides in foothill areas. In February, Southern California saw record snowfall, causing road closures, accidents and a State of Emergency in San Bernardino as residents were trapped by snow-capped roads with many not able to leave their homes.

Counties not listed as a FEMA disaster area will still be required to file on April 18.

Full list of California counties qualifying for an extension: 

  • Alameda
  • Colusa
  • Contra Costa
  • El Dorado
  • Fresno
  • Glenn
  • Humboldt
  • Kings
  • Lake
  • Los Angeles
  • Madera
  • Marin
  • Mariposa
  • Mendocino
  • Merced
  • Mono
  • Monterey
  • Napa
  • Orange
  • Placer
  • Riverside
  • Sacramento
  • San Benito
  • San Bernardino
  • San Diego
  • San Francisco
  • San Joaquin
  • San Luis Obispo
  • San Mateo
  • Santa Barbara
  • Santa Clara
  • Santa Cruz
  • Solano
  • Sonoma
  • Stanislaus
  • Sutter
  • Tehama
  • Tulare
  • Ventura
  • Yolo
  • Yuba









































Advertising disclosure: We may receive compensation for some of the links in our stories. Thank you for supporting LA Weekly and our advertisers.