Marlatt, Holland and Donoghue (Jimmy Limit)
Marlatt, Holland and Donoghue (Jimmy Limit)

Salem Signs to IAMSOUND, Reveals Tracklist, Date for 'King Night' LP

Salem may hail from Michigan originally, but the creepiness of the trio's music knows no borders.

Like a thick, toxic fog, their particular brand of darkwave music (see Cold Cave, the XX) hangs low to the ground -- sludgy, skulking stuff that's far too easy to get lost in.

That haze has been spreading slow and steady due to a series of limited 7-inches that've been trickling out via various small labels since 2008, but until now, Jack Donoghue (beats, raps), Heather Marlatt (vocals) and John Holland (synths) haven't had a proper home.

This morning, L.A.'s own IAMSOUND announced that it will release Salem's debut LP, King Night, on September 28.

Here's what the label had to say about the record:

Mixed by Dave Sardy [Autolux, Marilyn Manson, Slayer], the album's 11 tracks evoke certain elements of ethereal shoegaze, withdrawn Houston Screw, and production qualities akin to the frenetic delivery of contemporary Southern rap and Chicago footwork. [...] Echoing the duality of the band's urban and rural surroundings, King Night is at once menacing and serene.

Followers of the band will notice three previously released tracks -- blog favorites "Frost" and "Trapdoor," as well as "Redlights" -- reappearing on the full-length. This is a good thing (listen to all three on Salem's MySpace page).

Track-listing for King Night, out September 28 on IAMSOUND:

01. King Night

02. Asia

03. Frost

04. Sick

05. Release Da Boar

06. Trapdoor

07. Redlights

08. Hound

09. Traxx

10. Tair

11. Killer


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >