fbpx

This year's Best of L.A. issue pays homage to all the places in the city we're just not ready to say goodbye to yet. But it's not just us telling you our favorites. We also asked you to nominate your favorite places in Los Angeles — and then vote on the finalists. Here are your picks.

Best 9-Hole Golf Course

Los Feliz Golf Course, 3207 Los Feliz Blvd., Los Feliz. (323) 663-7758, golf.lacity.org/cdp_los_feliz.htm

Best Airport

Burbank Bob Hope Airport, 627 N. Hollywood Way, Burbank. (818) 840-8840, bobhopeairport.com

Best All-Ages Club

The Troubadour, 9081 Santa Monica Blvd., W. Hlywd. (310) 276-1158, troubadour.com

Best Antique Shop

Bearded Lady Vintage, 3005 W. Magnolia Blvd., Burbank. (323) 696-5219, facebook.com/beardedladyvintage

Best Arcade Bar

EightyTwo, 707 E. Fourth Place, dwntwn. (213) 626-8200, eightytwo.la

Best Art Collective

The L.A. Fort thelafort@gmail.com,
thelafort.weebly.com

Best Bar for People Watching

The Abbey, 692 N. Robertson Blvd., W. Hlywd. (310) 289-8410, sbe.com/nightlife/brands/theabbeyfoodandbar

Best Bar With Live Music

Harvard & Stone, 5221 Hollywood Blvd., Los Feliz. (323) 466-6063, harvardandstone.com

Best Barber Shop

Floyd's 99 Barber Shop, Multiple locations including 11700 Moorpark Ave., Studio City. (818) 980-9900, floydsbarbershop.com

Best Bartender

Jason Eisner, Gracias Madre, 8905 Melrose Ave., W. Hlywd. (323) 978-2170, graciasmadreweho.com

Best Beach

El Matador, 32350 El Matador Beach Road, Malibu. (818) 880-0363, parks.ca.gov/?page_id=633

Best Beach Yoga

Beach Yoga With Brad, bradkeimach.com

Best Bike Shop

Helen's Cycles, Multiple locations, including 2501 Broadway, Santa Monica. (310) 829-1836, helenscycles.com

Best Bookstore, Eastside

The Last Bookstore, 453 S. Spring St., dwntwn. (213) 488-0599, lastbookstorela.com

Best Bookstore, Westside

Book Soup, 8818 Sunset Blvd., W. Hlywd. (310) 659-3110, booksoup.com

Best Boutique

Clockwork Couture, 707 S. Main St., Burbank. (818) 478-1515, clockworkcouture.com

Best Breakfast

The Griddle Cafe, 7916 Sunset Blvd., Hlywd. (323) 874-0377, thegriddlecafe.com

Best Brownie

Milk, 7290 Beverly Blvd., Fairfax. (323) 939-6455, themilkshop.com

Best Brunch

Bottega Louie, 700 S. Grand Ave., dwntwn. (213) 802-1470, bottegalouie.com

Best Burger

Umami Burger, Multiple locations, including 1520 N. Cahuenga Blvd., Hlywd. (323) 469-3100, umami.com

Best Burrito

Chipotle, Multiple locations, including 6000 Sepulveda Blvd., Culver City.
(310) 773-9047, chipotle.com

Best Canyon Hike

Griffith Park. 4730 Crystal Springs Drive, Griffith Park. (323) 913-4688, laparks.org

Best Chef

Roy Choi. Multiple restaurants, including POT, 3515 Wilshire Blvd., Koreatown (213) 368-3030, eatatpot.com

Best Classic Cocktail Bar

Musso & Frank. 6667 Hollywood Blvd., Hlywd. (323) 467-7788, mussoandfrank.com

Best Comic Book Store

Meltdown Comics and Collectibles. 7522 Sunset Blvd., Hlywd. (323) 851-7223, meltcomics.com

Best Cookie

Diddy Riese, 926 Broxton Ave., Wstwd. (310) 208-0448, diddyriese.com

Best Dance Club

The Echoplex, 1822 Sunset Blvd., Echo Park. (213) 413-8200, theecho.com

Best Dance Lessons

Ballroom Blitz, 4878 Eagle Rock Blvd., Eagle Rock. (323) 258-0029,ballroomblitz.org

Best Day Trip

Santa Barbara. santabarbaraca.gov

Best DJ

DJ Dan Mancini. danmancini.info/dj

Best Dog Park

Silver Lake Dog Park. 1850 W. Silver Lake Drive, Silver Lake. (323) 644-3946, silverlakedogpark.com

Best Drive-in Movie Theater

Vineland Drive-In. 443 N. Vineland Ave., City of Industry. (626) 961-9262, vinelanddriveintheater.com

Best Event for Cyclists

CicLAvia.ciclavia.org

Best Farmers Market

Hollywood Farmers Market. Hollywood Boulevard and Ivar Street, Hlywd. seela.org/hollywood-farmers-market/

Best Fast Casual Restaurant

Tender Greens. Multiple locations, including 621 E. Colorado Blvd., Pasadena. (626) 405-1511, tendergreens.com

Best Gay Dance Party

The Abbey, 692 N. Robertson Blvd., W. Hlywd. (310) 289-8410, sbe.com/nightlife/brands/theabbeyfoodandbar

Best Gift Shop

Wacko/Soap Plant. 4633 Hollywood Blvd., Los Feliz. (323) 663-0122, soapplant.com

Best Gin Bar

No Vacancy, 1727 N. Hudson Ave., Hlywd. (323) 465-1902, novacancyla.com

Best Gym

Equinox. Multiple locations, including 444 S. Flower St., dwntwn. (213) 330-3999, equinox.com

Best Happy Hour

Harvard & Stone. 5221 Hollywood Blvd., Los Feliz. (323) 466-6063, harvardandstone.com

Best Head Shop

The Black Derby Smoke Shop. 6334 Laurel Canyon Blvd. Hlywd. (818) 508-7473, facebook.com/blackderbysmoke

Best Ice Cream Shop

Scoops. Multiple locations, including 712 N. Heliotrope, E. Hlywd. @ScoopsBIC.

Best Ice Rink

Pasadena Ice Skating Center. 300 E. Green St., Pasadena. (626) 578-0800. skatepasadena.com

Best Independent Movie Theater

Cinefamily. 611 N. Fairfax Ave., Beverly Grove. (323) 655-2610, cinefamily.org

Best Jeweler

Dream Collective. 1404 Micheltorena St., Silver Lake. (323) 660-2000, dreamcollective.com

Best Jogging Trail

Lake Hollywood Reservoir. Lake Hollywood and Wonder View drives, Hlywd. Hills

Best Karaoke

Brass Monkey. 3440 Wilshire Blvd. (rear), Koreatown. (213) 381-7047, cafebrassmonkey.com

Best Late-Night Dining

Canter's Deli, 419 N. Fairfax Ave., Fairfax. (323) 651-2030, cantersdeli.com

Best Mall

The Grove, 189 The Grove Drive, Beverly Grove. (323) 900-8080, thegrovela.com

Best Martial Arts Instruction

Krav Maga Worldwide. Multiple locations including 11400 W. Olympic Blvd. Ste. 100, Sawtelle. (310) 966-1300, kmwtrainingcenters.com

Best Mechanic

Pinky's Automotive, 5900 Melrose Ave., Hancock Park. (323) 462-7606, pinkysautomotive.com

Best Modern Cocktail Bar

Harvard & Stone, 5221 Hollywood Blvd., Los Feliz. (323) 466-6063, harvardandstone.com

Best Multiplex

ArcLight Hollywood, 6360 W. Sunset Blvd., Hlywd. (323) 464-1478,arclightcinemas.com

Best Music Lessons

McCabe's Guitar Shop, 3101 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica. (310) 828-4497, mccabes.com

Best Music Venue

Hollywood Bowl, 2301 N. Highland Ave., Hlywd. (323) 850-2000, hollywoodbowl.com

Best Nail Salon

Gloss Nail Salon, 2911 Sunset Blvd., Silver Lake. (323) 669-3977, gloss-nailspa.com

Best New Comedy Club

The Virgil, 4519 Santa Monica Blvd., E. Hlywd. (323) 660-4540, thevirgil.com

Best New Restaurant

Scopa, 2905 W. Washington Blvd., Venice. (310) 821-1100, scopaitalianroots.com

Best Outdoor Dining

Cliff's Edge3626 Sunset Blvd., Silver Lake. (323) 666-6116, cliffsedgecafe.com

Best Oyster Bar

L&E Oyster Bar, 1637 Silver Lake Blvd., Silver Lake. (323) 660-2255, leoysterbar.com

Best Park for a BBQ

Griffith Park, 4730 Crystal Springs Drive, Griffith Park. (323) 913-4688, laparks.org

Best Pastry Chef

Zoe Nathan. Multiple restaurants, including Huckleberry, 1014 Wilshire Blvd., Santa Monica. (310) 451-2311, huckleberrycafe.com

Best Pet Store

Centinela Feed & Pet Supplies. Multiple locations, including 3860 S. Centinela Ave., Mar Vista. (310) 398-2134, centinelafeed.com

Best Piano Bar

The Dresden, 1760 N. Vermont Ave., Los Feliz. (323) 665-4294, thedresden.com

Best Pizza

Pizzeria Mozza, 641 N. Highland Ave., Hancock Park. (323) 297-0101, pizzeriamozza.com

Best Place to Buy a Musical Instrument

McCabe's Guitar Shop, 3101 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica. (310) 828-4497, mccabes.com

Best Place to Eat at LAX

Umami Burger, 400 World Way, LAX. (310) 258-9403, umami.com

Best Place to Get Dressed Up

The Magic Castle, 7001 Franklin Ave., Hlywd. (323) 851-3313, magiccastle.com

Best Place to Spot Celebrities

Runyon Canyon, 2000 N. Fuller Ave., Hlywd. (323) 666-5046, laparks.org

Best Podcast

The Tom Leykis Show, blowmeuptom.com

Best Public Swimming Pool

Annenberg Community Beach House, 415 Pacific Coast Hwy., Santa Monica. (310) 458-4904, beachhouse.smgov.net

Best Ramen

SilverLake Ramen, 2927 Sunset Blvd., Silver Lake. (323) 660-8100

Best Record Store

Amoeba Records, 6400 Sunset Blvd., Hlywd. (323) 245-6400, amoeba.com

Best Restaurant

Bottega Louie, 700 S. Grand Ave., dwntwn. 213) 802-1470, bottegalouie.com

Best Restaurant Bar

Gracias Madre, 8905 Melrose Ave., W. Hlywd. (323) 978-2170, graciasmadreweho.com

Best Restaurant Near the Beach

Nobu Malibu, 22706 Pacific Coast Hwy., Malibu. (310) 317-9140, noburestaurants.com/malibu

Best Rugged Hike

Temescal Canyon Trail, 15900 Pacific Coast Hwy., Pacific Palisades hikespeak.com/trails/temescal-canyon/

Best Running Race

L.A. Marathon, lamarathon.com

Best Salon

The Hive, 1402 Micheltorena St., Silver Lake. (323) 665-1028, www.thehive.la

Best Shoe Store

DSW, Multiple locations, including 15301 Ventura Blvd., Sherman Oaks. (818) 981-2377, dsw.com

Best Spa

Burke Williams Day Spa, Multiple locations, including 8000 Sunset Blvd., W. Hlywd. (323) 822-9007, burkewilliamsspa.com

Best Spin Class

SoulCycle, Multiple locations, including 11640 San Vicente Blvd., Brentwd. (310) 559-7685, soul-cycle.com

Best Surf Lessons

Santa Monica Surf School, (310) 526-3346, santamonicasurfschool.com

Best Surf Shop

Val Surf, Multiple locations, including 22864 Ventura Blvd., Woodland Hills. (818) 225-8177, valsurf.com

Best Sushi

Katsuya, Multiple locations, including 6300 Hollywood Blvd., Hlywd. (323) 515-8782, katsuyarestaurant.com

Best Taco

Guisados, Multiple locations, including 2100 E. Cesar E. Chavez Ave., Boyle Heights. (323) 264-7201, guisados.co

Best Taco Truck

Kogi BBQ, (323) 315-0253, @kogibbq, kogibbq.com

Best Tattoo Shop

Shamrock Social Club, 9026 Sunset Blvd., W. Hlywd. (310) 271-9664, shamrocksocialclub.com

Best Tequila Bar

Gracias Madre, 8905 Melrose Ave., W. Hlywd. (323) 978-2170, graciasmadreweho.com

Best Toast

La Brea Bakery, 468 S. La Brea Ave., Hancock Park. (323) 939?6813, labreabakery.com

Best Toy Store


Wacko/Soap Plant, 4633 Hollywood Blvd., Los Feliz. (323) 663-0122, soapplant.com

Best Tuna Sandwich

Joan's on Third, 8350 W. Third St., Beverly Grove. (323) 655-2285, joansonthird.com

Best Vape Shop

Vapegoat, 5054 York Blvd., Highland Park. (323) 963-8273, vapegoat.com

Best Vegan Restaurant

Cafe Gratitude, Multiple locations, including 639 N. Larchmont, Larchmont. (323) 580-6383, cafegratitude.com

Best Video Store

Vidiots, 302 Pico Blvd., Santa Monica. (310) 392-8508, vidiotsvideo.com

Best Vintage Store

Wasteland, Multiple locations, including 7428 Melrose Ave., Fairfax. (323) 653-3028, shopwasteland.com

Best Whiskey Bar

Seven Grand, 515 W. Seventh St., dwntwn. (213) 614-0737,sevengrandbars.com

Best Wine Bar

Bar Covell, 4628 Hollywood Blvd., E. Hlywd. (323) 660-4400, barcovell.com

Prettiest Restaurant

Cliff's Edge, 3626 Sunset Blvd., Silver Lake. (323) 666-6116, cliffsedgecafe.com