The Ultimate List of Free Summer Concerts in L.A.

Corinne Bailey Rae performs June 7 at Amoeba Records Hollywood.EXPAND
Corinne Bailey Rae performs June 7 at Amoeba Records Hollywood.
Courtesy of Chuffmedia

As we all know, living in Los Angeles costs an arm and a leg. But contrary to popular belief, having fun here doesn't have to.

There are heaps of free events happening throughout our city this summer; you just have to know where to look. Luckily, we've already taken care of that for you. Check out L.A. Weekly's Ultimate List of Free Summer Concerts: 2016 edition below for four months full of free shows and festivals and quit pinching your pennies (or at least spend them on something else).

Note: For links to all venue websites, scroll to the bottom of the list.

Jump to events for: June | July | August | September

Friday, May 27
ICA Afro Latin Festival of Music and Dance
LACMA — Jazz at LACMA: Janis Mann
OriginalFarmers Market Summer Series: The International Swingers

Saturday, May 28
ICA Afro Latin Festival of Music and Dance (Day 2)
LACMA — Latin Sounds: The Echo Park Project

Sunday, May 29
LACMA — Sundays Live: Panic Ensemble

Wednesday, June 1
Amoeba Records Hollywood: Band of Horses

Thursday, June 2
Concerts on Cañon: Gary Greene, Esq., and his Big Band of Barristers
Ford JAM Session (Newhall): Japanese Folk Dance
KCRW Summer Nights (Santa Barbara): KCRW DJ Anne Litt

Friday, June 3
LACMA — Jazz at LACMA: Phil Ranelin & Tribe Renaissance
Original Farmers Market Summer Series: The Sounds of the Supremes led by ’70s/’80s "Supreme" Kaaren Ragland
Lummis Day Festival

Saturday, June 4
KCRW Summer Nights (One Colorado): KCRW DJ Valida and Sofi Tukker
LACMA — Latin Sounds: Dayren Santamaria & Made in Cuba
Lummis Day Festival (Day 2)

Sunday, June 5
Concerts on the Green: VCC World Music and Cultural Arts Festival
LACMA — Sundays Live: UCLA Philharmonia, Neal Stulberg, conductor
Lummis Day Festival (Day 3)

Tuesday, June 7
Amoeba Records Hollywood: Corinne Bailey Rae

The Dead Ships play Make Music Pasadena on Saturday, June 11.
The Dead Ships play Make Music Pasadena on Saturday, June 11.
Zane Roessell

Thursday, June 9
Amoeba Records Hollywood: Kaleo
Concerts on Cañon: The Tokens

Friday, June 10
LACMA — Jazz at LACMA: Peter Sprague
Original Farmers Market Summer Series: The Podunk Poets

Saturday, June 11
Ford JAM Session (Pomona): Hip-Hop Dance
KCRW Summer Nights (Anaheim Packing District): KCRW DJs Jeremy Sole and Karene Daniel
KCRW Summer Nights (One Colorado): KCRW DJ Gary Calamar and The Palms
LACMA — Latin Sounds: SambaDá
Make Music Pasadena

Sunday, June 12
Concerts on the Green: DSB — Tribute to Journey
LACMA — Sundays Live: Capitol Ensemble

Thursday, June 16

Concerts on Cañon: Dakota

Friday, June 17
Grand Performances at California Plaza: Mashrou' Leila
LACMA — Jazz at LACMA: Bob Mintzer / Russell Ferrante Quartet
Live at the Loft at W Hollywood: Private Island
Original Farmers Market Summer Series: Katia Moraes and Samba Society

Saturday, June 18
Getty Center — Saturdays Off the 405: Moses Sumney
Grand Performances at California Plaza: Soy Africano
KCRW Summer Nights (Chinatown): KCRW DJs Anthony Valadez and Raul Campos
LACMA — Latin Sounds: Mongorama

Sunday, June 19
Concerts on the Green: Space Oddity – World’s #1 David Bowie Tribute Act
Grand Performances at California Plaza: Flutes Across the World
LACMA — Sundays Live: Pianist Daniel Schlosberg

Tuesday, June 21
Make Music Los Angeles

Thursday, June 23
Concerts on Cañon: Amanda Castro Band

Friday, June 24
Grand Performances at California Plaza: Chicana Moratorium: Su Voz, Su Canto
LACMA — Jazz at LACMA: Barbara Morrison
Original Farmers Market Summer Series: Floyd & the Flyboys

Saturday, June 25
Downtown Long Beach Summer and Music (SAM): 720 Pine Skate Fest
Grand Performances at California Plaza: Classical Remix
LACMA — Latin Sounds: Quetzal

Sunday, June 26
Concerts on the Green: Ticket to Ride — Tribute to the Beatles
LACMA — Sundays Live: Pianist Inna Faliks

Thursday, June 30
Concerts on Cañon: Rod Lightning and The Thunderbolts of Love featuring Michael J. Libow

Mayer Hawthorne performs July 7 at the Santa Monica Pier.EXPAND
Mayer Hawthorne performs July 7 at the Santa Monica Pier.
Courtesy of the Windish Agency

Friday, July 1
Grand Performances at California Plaza: Troker, Kneebody
LACMA — Jazz at LACMA: Danny Janklow’s Elevation Band
Original Farmers Market Summer Series: Louie Cruz Beltran

Saturday, July 2
Grand Performances at California Plaza: 1 to 3
LACMA — Latin Sounds: Boogaloo Assassins

Sunday, July 3
Grand Performances at California Plaza: Lucky Diaz and the Family Jam Band
LACMA — Sundays Live: Encore Saxophone Quartet

Monday, July 4
Annual Vision Outside 4th of July Jazz and Blues Festival
Concerts on the Green: July 4th Fireworks Extravaganza featuring Original Beach Boy David Marks with the Surf City Allstars

Thursday, July 7
Concerts on Cañon: TBA
Culver City's Boulevard Music Summer Festival: Rob Ickes and Trey Hensley
Ford JAM Session (Newhall): Pacific Island Dance
Grand Performances at California Plaza: Swing Electrique with DJ Derek Rath
KCRW Summer Nights (Hammer Museum): Disappear Here: Music Made in L.A.
KCRW Summer Nights (Santa Barbara): KCRW DJ Chris Douridas
Marina del Rey Summer Concert Series — Symphonic Thursdays: Opera at the Shore
Twilight Concerts at the Pier: Mayer Hawthorne, Alina Baraz

Billy Childs brings his jazz quartet to LACMA on Friday, July 8.
Billy Childs brings his jazz quartet to LACMA on Friday, July 8.
Courtesy of the artist

Friday, July 8
LACMA — Jazz at LACMA: Billy Childs Quartet
Original Farmers Market Summer Series: R + D featuring Edward Roth, Rock Deadrick and Travis Davis

Saturday, July 9
Downtown Long Beach Summer and Music (SAM): Twisted at the Pike Fest
Ford JAM Session (Pomona): Salsa Rueda Dance
Grand Performances at California Plaza: Mexrrissey
KCRW Summer Nights (Annenberg Space for Photography): TBA
LACMA — Latin Sounds/Jazz at LACMA: Afro Cuban Jazz Project
Lotus Festival

Sunday, July 10
Concerts on the Green: WANTED – Ultimate Tribute to Bon Jovi
LACMA — Sundays Live: Capitol Ensemble
Lotus Festival (Day 2)

Thursday, July 14
Concerts on Cañon: TBA
Culver City's Boulevard Music Summer Festival:  Peter Mawanga and the Amaravi Movement
Grand Performances at California Plaza: The Town I Live in with DJs Rudy Bleu y Carlos Morales
KCRW Summer Nights (Hammer Museum): Disappear Here: Music Made in L.A.
Twilight Concerts at the Pier: Børns, Porches

Thao & the Get Down Stay Down perform July 21 at the Skirball Center.EXPAND
Thao & the Get Down Stay Down perform July 21 at the Skirball Center.
Courtesy of Billions

Friday, July 15
LACMA — Jazz at LACMA: Ryan Cross Jazz Eclectic with special guest Spanky Wilson
Original Farmers Market Summer Series: La Charanga Cubana

Saturday, July 16
Grand Performances at California Plaza: Dakah Hip Hop Orchestra
KCRW Summer Nights (Chinatown): KCRW DJs Jeremy Sole and Garth Trinidad
KCRW Summer Nights (Annenberg Space for Photography): TBA
LACMA — Latin Sounds: Melena and Ladies of Salsa
Marina del Rey Summer Concert Series — Pop Saturdays: Marilyn McCoo & Billy Davis Jr.

Upcoming Events

Sunday, July 17
Concerts on the Green: Glenn Leonard’s Temptations Revue
Getty Center: Dunhuang Inspired: An Evening With Tan Dun
LACMA — Sundays Live: iPalpiti Soloists & Duo Gurfinkel

Thursday, July 21
Concerts on Cañon: TBA
Culver City's Boulevard Music Summer Festival: Orquesta Tabaco y Ron
Grand Performances at California Plaza: Congo Mashup with DJ Garth Trinidad
KCRW Summer Nights (Hammer Museum): Disappear Here: Music Made in L.A.
Marina del Rey Summer Concert Series — Symphonic Thursdays: Megan Hilty
Skirball Center Sunset Concerts: Thao & the Get Down Stay Down
Twilight Concerts at the Pier: Psychedelic Furs, Day Wave

Friday, July 22
Grand Performances at California Plaza: Ginkgoa
LACMA — Jazz at LACMA: Sasha’s Bloc
Original Farmers Market Summer Series: Tony Galla & the Blues Messengers

Saturday, July 23
Grand Performances at California Plaza: Our Nation Awakens
KCRW Summer Nights (Annenberg Space for Photography): TBA
LACMA — Latin Sounds: Louie Cruz Beltran

Sunday, July 24
Concerts on the Green: Arrival From Sweden – The Music of ABBA
LACMA — Sundays Live: iPalpiti Artists International

Thursday, July 28
Concerts on Cañon: TBA
Culver City's Boulevard Music Summer Festival: Big Daddy
Grand Performances at California Plaza: International Disco and Funk with DJs Joel Quizon & Rani De Leon
KCRW Summer Nights (Hammer Museum): Disappear Here: Music Made in L.A.
Skirball Center Sunset Concerts: Songhoy Blues
Twilight Concerts at the Pier: Protoje, Raging Fiyah 

Friday, July 29
LACMA — Jazz at LACMA: Sara Gazarek
Original Farmers Market Summer Series: Jennifer York Quartet

Saturday, July 30
LACMA — Latin Sounds: Soul Sauce: A Tribute to Cal Tjader
Marina del Rey Summer Concert Series — Pop Saturdays: Brian McKnight

Sunday, July 31
Concerts on the Green: Billy Joel 2 Elton John
LACMA — Sundays Live: Pianist Conor Hanick

Natalia LaFourcade performs Aug. 4 at the Santa Monica Pier.
Natalia LaFourcade performs Aug. 4 at the Santa Monica Pier.
Courtesy of the artist

Monday, Aug. 1
Ford JAM Session (Ford Theatres): Tropicál Dance

Thursday, Aug. 4
Concerts on Cañon: TBA
Culver City's Boulevard Music Summer Festival: Nuala Kennedy
Ford JAM Session (Newhall): African Dance & Drums
Marina del Rey Summer Concert Series — Symphonic Thursdays: Ballet Folklórico de Los Angeles
Skirball Center Sunset Concerts: Thalma de Freitas
Twilight Concerts at the Pier: Natalia LaFourcade, Monsieur Periné

Friday, Aug. 5
Ford JAM Session (San Fernando): Hip-Hop Dance
LACMA — Jazz at LACMA: Dale Fielder
Original Farmers Market Summer Series: Incendio

Saturday, Aug. 6
Getty Center — Garden Concerts for Kids: José-Luis Orozco
Grand Performances at California Plaza: Mbongwana Star
LACMA — Latin Sounds: Afro-Peruvian Jazz Project

Sunday, Aug. 7
Concerts on the Green: Matchbox Twenty Too – America’s #1 Matchbox Twenty Tribute Band
Getty Center — Garden Concerts for Kids: José-Luis Orozco
Grand Performances at California Plaza: Sanubar Tursun
LACMA — Sundays Live: Pianist Nadia Shpachenko

Monday, Aug. 8
Ford JAM Session (Ford Theatres): Drum Circle

Thursday, Aug. 11
Concerts on Cañon: TBA
Culver City's Boulevard Music Summer Festival: Missy Andersen
Skirball Center Sunset Concerts: M.A.K.U. Soundsystem
Twilight Concerts at the Pier: TBA

Friday, Aug. 12

Ford JAM Session (San Fernando): African Dance & Drums
LACMA — Jazz at LACMA: Nick Mancini Organ Trio
Original Farmers Market Summer Series: Upstream

Ra Ra Riot perform Aug. 13 in Marina del Rey's Summer Concert Series.EXPAND
Ra Ra Riot perform Aug. 13 in Marina del Rey's Summer Concert Series.
Courtesy of the Windish Agency/ by Shervin Lainez

Saturday, Aug. 13
Ford JAM Session (Pomona): Swing Dance
Getty Center — Garden Concerts for Kids: Mista Cookie Jar & the Chocolate Chips
Grand Performances at California Plaza: Disco Manila
LACMA — Latin Sounds/Jazz at LACMA: Susie Hansen Latin Band
Marina del Rey Summer Concert Series — Pop Saturdays: Ra Ra Riot

Sunday, Aug. 14
Concerts on the Green: Led Zepagain — Tribute to Led Zeppelin
Getty Center — Garden Concerts for Kids: Mista Cookie Jar & the Chocolate Chips

Monday, Aug. 15
Ford JAM Session (Ford Theatres): Zydeco Dance

Thursday, Aug. 18
Concerts on Cañon: TBA
Echo Park Rising (bands TBA)
Marina del Rey Summer Concert Series — Symphonic Thursdays: Madame Butterfly
Skirball Center Sunset Concerts: Music Maker Blues Revue
Twilight Concerts at the Pier: TBA

Friday, Aug. 19
Echo Park Rising (Day 2)
Grand Performances at California Plaza: The Women Who Score: Soundtracks Live
LACMA — Jazz at LACMA: Ernie Watts Quartet
Original Farmers Market Summer Series: Nina Lares

Saturday, Aug. 20
Echo Park Rising (Day 3)
Getty Center — Garden Concerts for Kids: Renee & Friends
Grand Performances at California Plaza: Kiosk with special guest Ardeshir Farah
KCRW Summer Nights (Chinatown): KCRW DJs Mathieu Schreyer and Jason Bentley
LACMA — Latin Sounds: Catina DeLuna & Lado B Brazilian Project featuring Otmaro Ruiz

Sunday, Aug. 21
Concerts on the Green: The Long Run – Experience the Eagles
Echo Park Rising (Day 4)
Ford JAM Session (San Fernando): Mexican Folk Dance
Getty Center — Garden Concerts for Kids: Renee & Friends
Grand Performances at California Plaza: Fuzon & Ayaz Farid and Abu Muhammad Qawwal

Monday, Aug. 22
Ford JAM Session (Ford Theatres): Funk Dance Party

Thursday, Aug. 25
Concerts on Cañon: TBA
Skirball Center Sunset Concerts: Shai Tsabari and the Middle East Groove All Stars
Twilight Concerts at the Pier: Save Ferris

Friday, Aug. 26
Grand Performances at California Plaza: TBA
LACMA — Jazz at LACMA: m-pact
Original Farmers Market Summer Series: The California Feetwarmers

Saturday, Aug. 27
Getty Center — Saturdays Off the 405: Diane Coffee
Grand Performances at California Plaza: TBA
LACMA — Latin Sounds: Orquesta Charangoa
Marina del Rey Summer Concert Series — Pop Saturdays: Eddie Palmieri Salsa Orchestra

Sunday, Aug. 28
Concerts on the Green: Taylor Dayne
Ford JAM Session (San Fernando): Tropical Dance

Monday, Aug. 29
Ford JAM Session (Ford Theatres): Salsa Rueda Dance

Unknown Mortal Orchestra perform Sept. 1 at the Santa Monica Pier.EXPAND
Unknown Mortal Orchestra perform Sept. 1 at the Santa Monica Pier.
Courtesy of the Windish Agency/ by Neil Krug

Thursday, Sept. 1
Concerts on Cañon: TBA
Ford JAM Session (Newhall): Salsa Rueda Dance
KCRW Summer Nights (Santa Barbara): KCRW DJ Travis Holcombe
Twilight Concerts at the Pier: Unknown Mortal Orchestra, Steady Holiday

Friday, Sept. 2

Original Farmers Market Summer Series: Nayanna Holley

Saturday, Sept. 3
Downtown Long Beach Summer and Music (SAM): Buskerfest
LACMA — Latin Sounds: Ricardo Lemvo & Makina Loca
Leimert Park Village African Art & Music Festival

Sunday, Sept. 4
LACMA — Sundays Live: Endre Balogh and Friends
Leimert Park Village African Art & Music Festival (Day 2)

Monday, Sept. 5
Leimert Park Village African Art & Music Festival (Day 3)

Thursday, Sept. 8
Concerts on Cañon: TBA
Twilight Concerts at the Pier: Ohio Players

Saturday, Sept. 10
Ford JAM Session (Pomona): Mexican Folk Dance

Sunday, Sept. 11
LACMA — Sundays Live: Sundays Live Audition Winner — Pianist Tomomi Sato

Monday, Sept. 12
Ford JAM Session (Ford Theatres): Forró Dance

Thursday, Sept. 15
Concerts on Cañon: TBA

Friday, Sept. 16
LACMA — Jazz at LACMA: Theo Saunders with visual artist George Herms

Saturday, Sept. 17
KCRW Summer Nights (Anaheim Packing District): KCRW DJs Dan Wilcox and Marion Hodges

Sunday, Sept. 18
LACMA — Sundays Live: Los Angeles Symphonic Winds

Monday, Sept. 19
Ford JAM Session (Ford Theatres): Caribbean Dance

Thursday, Sept. 22
Concerts on Cañon: TBA

Friday, Sept. 23
LACMA — Jazz at LACMA: Peter Erskine Is Dr. Um with John Beasley, Bob Sheppard and Benjamin Shepherd

Sunday, Sept. 25
LACMA — Sundays Live: Duo pianists Anna von Urbans and Kordian Gora

Monday, Sept. 26
Ford JAM Session (Ford Theatres): Ukulele & Hula Dance

Thursday, Sept. 29
Concerts on Cañon: TBA

Friday, Sept. 30
LACMA — Jazz at LACMA: Angel City Jazz Festival featuring Holophonor

More information on venues here:
Amoeba Records Hollywood
Concerts on Cañon
Concerts on the Green
Culver City's Boulevard Music Summer Festival
Downtown Long Beach Summer and Music (SAM)
Ford JAM Sessions
Getty Center (Garden Concerts for Kids, Saturdays Off the 405)
Grand Performances at California Plaza
KCRW Summer Nights
LACMA (Art and Music, Jazz at LACMA, Latin Sounds, Sundays Live)
Levitt Pavilion (MacArthur Park and Pasadena) — TBA
Marina del Rey Summer Concert Series
Original Farmers Market Summer Music Series
Pershing Square Summer Concert Series (Wednesday Lunchbox Concerts, Thursday Salsa Sunset, Downtown Stage Saturday) — TBA
Skirball Center Sunset Concerts
Twilight Concerts at the Pier


L.A. Weekly Music's Greatest Hits!
The 20 Best Drummers of All Time
The 20 Best Hip-Hop Songs in History
How the Hell Do People Afford Coachella?

Upcoming Events


Sponsor Content

Newsletters

All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories
    Send:

Newsletters

All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >