• Slideshows
  • Videos
 
MORE

Spontaneous Fantasia

With a title that proffers a less-than-subtle nod to another innovative work of animation, artist and composer J. Walt Adamczyk blends computer technology, visual imagery and music into a head-spinning good time. Armed with self-designed software, a computer touchpad, color controls and a joystick, Adamczyk sketches abstract images and shapes in real time that are projected on a domed planetarium ceiling as we just lie back and enjoy. Accompanied by his own and others’ compositions, Adamczyk takes us on a trip — sans LSD — through playfully psychedelic virtual worlds. “Autocasm 2007” starts with color-shifting, almost 3-D tubular shapes that Adamczyk has us swoop around as if on a helicopter ride, so as to view their many angles and textures. In “Nocturnes,” Adamczyk’s doodle of one line morphs, kaleidoscope-like, into multiples of itself to shape-shift from apparent deep-sea creatures to a plethora of ethereal compositions. “Autocasm: Gardens of Thuban” starts with a sunrise, as pod-shaped objects pop out of a desolate landscape and create a cosmic forest that, as Adamczyk moves the joystick for us to zoom over his cosmic creations, reminds one of those 1950s artist renderings of what other planets looked like once our rocket ships had landed.
Fri., Feb. 8, 8 p.m.; Sat., Feb. 9, 6:30 p.m.; Thu., Feb. 14, 8 p.m.; Fri., Feb. 22, 8 p.m.; Sat., Feb. 23, 6:30 p.m.; Sat., March 15, 8 p.m.; Sun., March 16, 6:30 p.m.; Fri., March 28, 8 p.m.; Sat., March 29, 6:30 p.m.; Fri., April 11, 8 p.m.; Sat., April 12, 6:30 p.m.; Fri., April 25, 8 p.m.; Sat., April 26, 6:30 p.m.; Fri., May 9, 8 p.m.; Sat., May 10, 6:30 p.m.; Fri., May 23, 8 p.m.; Sat., May 24, 6:30 p.m.; Every other Friday, 8 p.m.; Every other Saturday, 6:30 p.m.; Every other Friday, 8 p.m.; Every other Saturday, 6:30 p.m. Starts: Feb. 8. Continues through Sept. 27, 2008


Sponsor Content

More CALENDAR News